Toe Lattyar Htun

Toe Lattyar Htun

Yangon, Myanmar

Vietnamese-German University
MSc in Global Production Engineering & Management

Previous university/Major

Dagon University/Bachelor of Science in Physics


Employer: Win Food Co. Ltd
Position: Production Process Engineer
Work duration: 3 years


Myanmar Pou Chen – Hinrich Global Trade Leader Scholarship

Class of 2018
Current scholar

Read my story here

My first thought when I learned I was awarded this scholarship was: When I got the scholarship award after the final interview and knew that I would be going to a new country to start a new life and advance my study, I felt so excited. It was the most enjoyable and peaceful time of my life.

I’m interested in trade because: It opens up opportunities for individuals and countries to participate in and benefit from globalization. It can also lead to individuals receiving better education and eventually having a better career and life. At the domestic level, it creates jobs, reduces poverty, and strengthens national partnerships.

What this scholarship opportunity means to me: I believe this opportunity will bring good changes in my family’s life and mine. I was a supervisor for a food company in my country. At that time, I had always hoped to improve myself and work in a foreign country to improve my and my family’s life. However, I never thought I would get a great career opportunity and take my master’s degree abroad at the same time without the scholarship and career development program offered by Myanmar Pou Chen and Hinrich Foundation.

The international experiences I’m most looking forward to include: Using what I know and learning new things. I am very excited to be involved in an international organization, and I will do my best to utilize my experience, knowledge and skill to achieve my and the organization’s goals. Being part of a team that learns, shares and faces challenges together is definitely one of my biggest motivations.

What I’ll bring to my dorm to remind me of home and why: I will bring one set of my country’s traditional dresses to the dorm. It will always remind me of my hometown, who I am and where I am and to make use of my time by learning new things and joining meaningful activities.

My favorite hobbies and other interests I am passionate about are: My favorite hobby is playing musical instruments, but I can’t play other musical instrument except the guitar. I also like swimming because it is good for my health. In addition, I also like giving practical solutions and teaching philosophy.

My proudest achievement so far in life is: Being granted the Hinrich Foundation scholarship.

I had never dreamt of getting this scholarship, which has provided me the opportunity to take my master’s degree abroad and work for one of Adidas’ suppliers upon graduation.

I spent my time in the manufacturing field for three years by working and learning from my company. When I learned about this scholarship program, I told myself that I would get it by applying the experience and knowledge I gained for three years. It was my biggest dream that I pursued.

As a result, I was granted this scholarship to take up a Masteral Degree in Global Production Engineering and Management at the Vietnamese-German University. It has made a difference in my life and my family’s and has given us a chance to have a secure and peaceful future.

The largest obstacle I’ve overcome so far in life is: When I first started working, I had no strong experience and skills in industrial work, so I had to face many obstacles. These became my first steps toward being a good employee of the company. When I struggled and tried to move forward to get through this difficult situation, I made many mistakes, and my confidence was decreased. I lost people’s trust and respect. It felt difficult to work and communicate with the people around me.

Although that was a very tough challenge, I tried my best to overcome it step by step. The process was honestly quite slow due to my limited background.

Four months later, I met up with a teacher who had developed good industrial systems for the company. He chose me to lead some activities in the company because even though he knew I was not the most experienced one yet, he saw my potential and encouraged me to be a leader. He taught me a lot on how to solve my problems and gradually helped me rebuild my confidence and credibility. I will never forget his saying “In Toyota, continuous improvements usually come from making mistakes and learning from them!”

My future goals and aspirations include: Enhancing my knowledge and developing my career to support my family. When I get old, I would like to be a teacher or a consultant who can guide young people on their way to success.

I plan to give back and help others by: Being positive and helping others. I am not a perfect person even though I won this scholarship. I had to learn a lot of new things that I had never learned before from my environment and the people around me. I want to be a positive person in communicating and helping others, and that means practicing  good manners, kindness, friendliness and teamwork. I would like to do my best in working for my sponsor company and in participating in Hinrich Foundation’s activities as a member of its alumni.

Personal statement: I would like to say thanks to my sponsor company  Myanmar Pou Chen Co. Ltd and the Hinrich Foundation for offering me the greatest opportunity –a Masteral Degree in Global Production Engineering and Management in Vietnam. This was my first experience studying and living abroad.I did a lot of things for the first time: taking a flight, preparing documents for an overseas travel and studying and living far away from my family. It was scary and exciting at the same time. I found many new friends in Vietnam who were very kind to me.

My school admission, accommodation, transportation and everything else were all taken cared of by the foundation. Everything went smoothly thanks to the good arrangement of the foundation and my sponsor company. I sincerely thank them for their support.

Story about Kevin

I was born in Yangon, Myanmar in 1993. My family and I endured some hardships after my father worked abroad and left our family because of many difficulties. It was very challenging for my mother to earn a living and teach my elder sister and I at the same time.

My family was facing financial problems when we moved to our relative’s hometown. When we migrated to a new city, I was 11 and my sister was 15. We had completely lost the important connections among our family.

Despite that, we just accepted what life brought us. Every morning, my mom would wake me up at around 5 o’clock, and I would ride my grandpa’s old bicycle on the road of the mountainous city covered with heavy snow. Then I would buy some fried chickpeas for our store. My mom would prepare some food and drinks at her wooden table and sell them very enthusiastically. Then I would carry some to school and sell them to the students and my friends.

For a boy like me, school life was very funny and peaceful. If someone were to step in my shoes, they would understand how important my family was to me, especially when I saw my mother stand alone for us and encourage us to value and advance our education. That is one of the reasons I want to continue loving and giving back to serve my mother.

She had always encouraged me to help the people around me and become honest and helpful. I always acted on my her advice when I became a supervisor in the manufacturing company. I went through many obstacles to be a good leader; however, I accepted and welcomed them as valuable opportunities to learn and improve myself. In many ways, I have succeeded through the grace of God.